Sun-Fried Plants: A Summer Tragedy

I guess we should have known by the oddly warm and early spring we had this year that we were in for one hot summer, but this is crazy.

It is insanely warm.  Not only are people having a hard time in the heat, but so are the plants.

Take my poor little herbs I potted in May.  All was well with them at first.  Then at the end of June I went away for a few days to help with kitchen reno (by help I mean watch) and then off to my Dad’s wedding.  And while I was away that blaring sun got to my herbs.

I came home to pots of dying and, in some cases, downright fried little herbs.  I cut back what I could and took good care of them..

Some of them are almost recovered.  Others, though, I am pretty sure are dead.

Sorry Dill, Tarragon and Cilantro.  It was good while it lasted.

The spot where Tarragon used to be.

And yet it’s not just me feeling the wrath of the sun these days.  Our amazing CSA farmers explained in our weekly blurb last Sunday that they are having the worst CSA season in 6 summers!

And without a fancy irrigation system, they are having trouble keeping everything moist.  Not to mention that there is a small window of time to water plants before the sun heats them to a point of scorching their roots (exactly the reason why you shouldn’t water your grass and garden in the hot sun).

I can imagine their frustration.  With all the effort you put into growing something, wether a small aloe plant hanging in the kitchen or acres of diverse crops on the farm, it is disheartening to see them struggle or perish in the heat.

One thing is for sure, having grown my herbs this year I have even more appreciation for the farmers that grow the food my family eats.

As a famous frog once said: “It’s not easy being green.”

It may not be easy to run an organic farm without the crazy fertilizers, chemically pesticides and large-scale irrigation systems to combat this heat, but I sure do appreciate that my CSA farmers stand strong to their values (even if it means a smaller yield).

So here is a big thank you from my family for all of that hard work.

How about you?  Are you having troubles growing any plants, herbs or veggies this season?

***************************

CSA Goodies: Week #4

4 thoughts on “Sun-Fried Plants: A Summer Tragedy

  1. Oh yes, it isn’t the best year for us either. The plants that are doing well are the ones that are in my earth boxes – which I am constantly filling with water. Everything in the garden is pretty much stunted. We get a week of driving rain, and then a week of scorching sun. Add some hail and high winds, and it isn’t very good. Oh, and all of my squash plants were destroyed by squash bugs…awesome! I am trying to figure out what changes I can make for next year. It just shows me how much climate change is really changing the norm.

    • Your poor plants! I totally agree with you on climate change. Yes there is generally a lot of variance weather-wisefrom year to year, but weather over the last while seems to have gotten more and more erratic. I feel for your plants with all of the different types of weather you are having. One home grown herb at a time will make it all better… 😉 Thanks for the comment.

  2. Well Catherine Im turing a blind eye to the brown shades of my grass and the crispy sounds it makes as I walk across it. I’m telling myself brown is nature’s colour and should be enjoyed.

    However, I’m struggling with my flowers that are dying from the heat. Since we are on well system, watering things outside seems negligent. I did pay good money for some of them, and am now struggling with saving what I’ve paid for or risking the water supply to our home.

    My herbs are doing fine though. They get shade for the hottest part of the day, and I’ve mulched them. You might see if you can put your pots under the edge of your deck so they can be shaded a bit.
    In the meantime just keep thinking of December and January to be able to enjoy the now.

    Auntie S

    • Haha. Brown IS one of nature’s finest colours. I am sorry your plants are struggling as well. It is easy for those of us in the city to forget about how living in the country on a well system adds an extra challenge to growing plants. It can’t be easy to watch a plant you paid for shrivel in order to save water for your essential house tasks.

      As for my herbs, I think you may be on to something. I will try giving them a little more shade during the day. I was so focused on the instructions saying “full sun” that I wash;t using my judgement. Thanks for the comment.

What do you think? Leave a reply.

