30 x 30 Fun: Week 2

Finally we are all feeling better at our casa.  We got off to a shaky start during week one of the 30 x 30 challenge, but week two went so much better.  Here is what we’ve been up to lately.

Friday

We all breathed a sigh of relief and welcomed the weekend with open arms.  Little Man and I attempted the beach again.  I was way more prepared for playing in the water, and the sandy finale.  Little Man was a lot more energetic, although this time there were no kids around to play with.  He settled for watching some geese and goslings that were nested nearby (you can’t really see them in the picture below, but I promise they are there).

Saturday

Saturday we had a fantastic barbecue at Grandma N and Grampa A’s house.  Grampa A is building Little Man a slide/climbing wall combo.  It is not done yet, but the slide was solid enough for Little Man to do a few test runs.  Watching him have so much fun trying to climb the slide was also amusing.

Sunday

On Sunday the Dreamboat and his brother checked out some free trails nearby (but neglected to take any pictures).  We are going to try them out soon as a family, with Little Man trailing behind my bike in the Chariot.  I can’t wait!

Monday

I spent some time outside hanging clothes out to dry.  I know I shouldn’t be so excited about having a clothesline, but the Dreamboat just finished installing it recently and my nerdy eco senses get all tingly when I think of the energy we are saving.  To eco nerds!

We also spent some time setting up our tent to seam seal it and check for leaks.  It is one of those big box stores cheap tents that we smugly claimed we would never buy, but it has room for a playpen AND blow up bed (we are getting soft in our old age).

Tuesday

We went on a little trek at a conservation area in the heart of Sudbury.  Most people think that Sudbury is an ugly city of endless rock.  This picture is what you can find in town, if you go looking for it.

Little man and I checked out the trail and I helped him for some of the climb up before scooping him up.  Once the ground evened out he went exploring.  Apart from picking up and dropping dirt and rocks, he checked out a snail hiding in its shell.

Wednesday

This is the day I realized that we had a dandelion growing next to our little cherry tree that was almost a quarter of the height of the tree.  It looked monstrous next to the little tree, like something out of a Dr. Seuss book.  I picked it and gave it to Little Man.  I showed him how to blow the seeds off and he tried his best by bringing the dandelion all the way to his lips and then making the “p” sound.  It was pretty cute.

Thursday

We started off the day at a park.  Little Man explored the playground before finding the only two puddles for miles around.  How is it that in +20 degree Celsius weather he manages to find a puddle?  The great puddle detective strikes again!

And now another week has flown by in the race to summer.  I can’t wait to see what shinanagins we will get up to as the 30 x 30 challenge continues to unfold.  With summer almost here, what are you planning to do?

2 thoughts on “30 x 30 Fun: Week 2

  1. I think this is the age that I love the most. Although I have always had a hard time trying to figure that out, as I think all the stages of infants and toddlers are fascinating. This second year (where they experience and explore for the first time) is wonderful to watch unfold. Not every parent embraces it as you are Catherine. Keep it up, and thanks for sharing. I’m loving it.

    Now its time to hang clothes out. I can’t do the lawn tractor thing in the fields, as I broke it yesterday, but maybe gardening and packing our trailer for some fun times this weekend. We get to visit with Gwenyth again, who sings. 🙂

What do you think? Leave a reply.

