Organically Raised: Conscious Cooking for Babies and Toddlers (Cookbook Review)

I am a book fiend.  It has taken years to develop the ability to walk out of a book store with only one or (gasp!) no books.  In high school it was books about art, in university it was politics and now that I am married it is books about food.  I love cookbooks!  With Little Man’s arrival, I began scouring bookstores for great cookbooks that tackle cooking for children.  Organically Raised by Anni Daulter has been one of my favourite finds so far.

Daulter refers to Organically Raised as “a cookbook with a conscience.”  In it she encourages parents to replace traditional (i.e. generally pesticide grown) jarred baby foods with delicious, organic homemade dishes.  Dishes are simple but flavourful, with everything from a steamed carrot, spinach, and beet blend to pan-seared halibut with lemon caper sauce and parmesan linguine.

The book is divided into four sections that take you from baby purees to a fantastic sugar-free cake for your little one’s first birthday.  Rather than only focusing on recipes, Daulter also covers important topics such as stocking your kitchen, special diets, food allergies and expanding your child’s pallet beyond the basics.  If that’s not enough to get you interested, the colourful pictures of ridiculously cute kids enjoying various fresh foods outside will.

I was granted permission by the author to print her recipe for the “Baby Turns 1 No-Sugar Birthday Cake” recipe.  I will include the recipe in my Sunday post on Little Man’s birthday.  If it is anything like the other recipes I have tried in the book, then I know that Little Man will love it.

2 thoughts on “Organically Raised: Conscious Cooking for Babies and Toddlers (Cookbook Review)

  1. I will be Pinning that recipe for sure! I have been researching baby foods myself and am definitely going to stay away from the purees. We are going to try Baby Led Weaning, it’s a really interesting concept and I can’t wait to see how Cameron takes to it.

    • Hi Kelly. I’m glad you are looking forward to the cake recipe. This book also had some great recipes that C can try with the BLW concept (e.g. some of the toddler recipes or adapt the baby purees). Little Man was pretty fond of a lot of the puree recipes that I just cut into small chunks or only buzzed them a little bit to make them little hand sized. Good luck with BLW. We did that combined with purees some of the time and it worked out great. Messy, but great.

What do you think? Leave a reply.

