Impatiently Awaiting Patience

That “brief” bout of warm weather I wrote about two weeks ago is still hanging around, making everyone hopeful that spring is here to stay.  Not the kind of spring that taunts us with a never-ending cycle of freezing and melting snow, but the one that promises plenty of time outside.  With this waiting game being played, and the taunting possibility of change in the air, it seems that we are all impatiently awaiting something.

This being the first spring in our new house, I have a rather large to-do list in my head that I badly want to tackle.  With any house there is an array of things that need to be made, fixed or replaced, and our house is no exception.  From the spots of old, crumbling roof shingles to the sad, salt-beaten baby tree in the front yard, I want instantaneous change.  My soul is crying out “gimme, gimme.”

Take our back yard, for example.  It is in need of many changes and improvements.  One of the top items on my to-do list is to create some sort of fencing.  With an alleyway at the back, creating privacy seems essential.  The last owners planted about six little bushes along the alleyway.  However, they are so small that even our half-pinted Little Man will soon tower over them.  And they definitely don’t provide enough of an obstacle to stop the neighbour’s dog from pooping in our yard.  Hardly the privacy screens I am envisioning in my mind.

It took a conversation with Little Man’s great-grandmother for me to see that it is not change but patience that I need most right now.  When she and Little Man’s great-grandfather stopped by today, she, Grandma N and I got into a conversation about the many plans the Dreamboat and I have for our property.  I mentioned to her that I long to have the privacy and beauty of a well-grown garden like the one Great-grandmother M has at her place.

In her back yard there are beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers of various shapes and sizes.  It is so quiet and peaceful there that deer have been known to stop by.  I love the idea of the diversity that her garden has, and I want that to magically appear in my backyard as soon as possible.  As I explained this, Great-grandmother M smiled and said “It took many years for our back yard to look like that.”

She and Grandma N then reminisced about how great-grandmother M would call her kids in for lunch and see just the top of Grandma N’s head from behind one of the trees.  That tree now towers above everyone.  With patience and time, a sparse yard became a beautiful oasis.

It’s funny, because it is not only the garden that I am trying to rush.  I think of all the things that I did when I was younger and I want so badly for Little Man to be big enough for me to share those things with him.  Even with this blog I am rushing myself.  With the growing audience, and my first review and giveaway around the corner, I am bursting with things to write about.  I want to accomplish everything at once.

But being so fixated on the future that I don’t appreciate Little Man’s present abilities is going to make me sad for what I missed in the meantime.  And rushing to publish quickly written posts just to get out all the things I want to say on this blog isn’t going to make me feel like a very good writer.  There’s a reason that the best things in life take time: it allows for the greatest possible outcome.  From planning my fifty-year garden, to slowly and carefully developing my writing ideas, I am determined to start savouring the process.

They say that with age comes patience.  In the mean time…gimme, gimme.

What about you?  What are you impatiently awaiting this season?  If you can’t wait for future posts, I have good news for you.  I will now be posting on Fridays on top of my usual Wordless Wednesday and Sunday posts.

4 thoughts on “Impatiently Awaiting Patience

  1. We had set a 5 year plan for our gardens when we moved into the house. Each year we would tackle a project that needed attention or continue on with something we had already started. Each fall we added a few bulbs and shop year end sales at local nursery’s to add to the collection. Each spring we split perennials to spread the garden out more. This is year 5 in our garden and I think the plan this year is to develop a new 5 year plan.

    • It’s interesting that you mentioned a five year plan for your gardens. After reading the book “The Backyard Homestead” I began developing a loose idea of my five year plan. Because our backyard is so wee, I want to maximize space and avoid finding out too late that I put something in the wrong location. How exciting that you are at the beginning of a new five-year plan. It must feel great to see all that you have accomplished already. Thanks for commenting Sandee.

  2. Great post! I love the promise that spring brings with it. One of the most rewarding things about having your own home is watching your gardens grow and mature year after year. Plant some bulbs this fall and you will be handsomely rewarded next spring. When I removed the mulch from our beds last week, I was surprised to find Crocuses about to bloom!

    I too play the game “I can’t wait until Cameron can crawl/walk/talk/etc”. Yet at the same time I am wondering where my tiny newborn went and missing those special first weeks with him. It’s hard to strike a balance of living in the “now” as a new parent.

    • Thanks for the comment Kelly. I am so excited that you found an amazing surprise under the mulch this year. I am still in the planning stage of my garden, but with CSA veggies coming this year, I think I will start out with flowers and herbs only.

      As for your little one, I can’t believe he is already past the newborn stage. That makes Little Man seem very old in comparison. I miss those newborn days too, but the more Little Man grows, the more his quirky personality shines through. I bet Cameron is getting more expressive every day.

What do you think? Leave a reply.

