Welcome!

Welcome to Yeah Baby It’s Cold Outside.  I have always wanted to write about trying to live sustainably in the north, but it is only recently that this desire combined with my new status as a mom.  My name is Catherine and I am the mother of one rambunctious ball of energy I like to call Little Man.   I never thought I would be blogging about being a new mom.  In fact, I never thought I would be a mom at all.  It’s funny how your desires change with time.  From terrified at the thought of giving birth to the discovery of a great midwife team, I suddenly became empowered and passionate about natural childbirth.  One very successful home birth later, and I now find myself to be enjoying the chaos of attempting to combine my interest in attachment parenting with my desire for sustainable eco-living.

Those of us living up north, whether it is in Thunder Bay, Prince Rupert or Iqaluit, know that there are unique challenges to sustainable eco-living in our area.  From lack of resources to difficult weather, it is not easy to commit to reducing one’s eco-footprint.  I intend to blog about my family’s journey to etch out a happy, economical, sustainable life in the Great White North while raising Little man in a home filled with love, humour, play and hands on learning.  When it comes to living sustainably, my focus will be on what products and services are available in my area (a small town near Sudbury, Ontario) as well as Canadian companies that provide online products to those of us living away from southern urban centres.

When it comes to parenting, my blog will focus on getting to know about attachment parenting as well as other philosophies that involve nurturing children and play-based learning.  I will also talk about (attempts at) chemical-free health, pregnancy, birth, child development and play.  Being a mom means flying from the seat of your pants, weeding through a bombardment of advice (both wanted and unwanted), trying to maintain one’s sanity in chaos, and navigating an array of different parenting philosophies.  It can be very difficult to figure out what to do day-to-day in order to raise a happy and healthy child, but I intend to help you with that task.

If you want to live sustainably, this is the right place.  If you want your children to grow to be happy, caring and lifelong learners, then keep reading.  I am excited to get started, and I look forward to hearing what you think of my ideas.  I will post one written and one photographic post per week as I get my feet wet, but hope to increase  to two posts per week in the future.  Feel free to subscribe to my blog so that you can receive important updates, and let me hear what you have to say by commenting on my posts.  Thanks for coming.

In my next post I will tell you a little more about my story, and how a love of nature is at the heart of this blog.  Why not leave a comment telling me what you hope to read about in upcoming posts?

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. I love you…. and I miss you … and I can’t wait to keep reading.

    “Catherine is hilarious, witty, sarcastic and brilliant. I am excited for all of you who are new to Catherine. She will make your world awesome!
    -Sarah Horsley, Catherine lover since 2002, and co-Mother of TIde and Breeze (the most ridiculous cats ever)

    • Wow. What a recommendation. I may get performance anxiety now! I am excited that you will be reading “Yeah Baby It’s Cold Outside.” Let me know what you are doing to save the world in your neck of the woods too. Thanks Sarah!

What do you think? Leave a reply.

